The FMA program is authorized by Section 1366 of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended, with the goal of reducing or eliminating claims under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FMA provides funding to States, Territories, federally-recognized tribes and local communities for projects that reduce or eliminate long-term risk of flood damage to structures insured under the NFIP.

FMA funding is available for flood hazard mitigation projects, plan development and management costs.Funding is appropriated by Congress annually.

This grant program is available for the following tasks and activities:

  • Property Acquisition and Structure Demolition or Relocation
  • Structure Elevation
  • Mitigation Reconstruction
  • Dry Flood-Proofing of Historic Residential Structures
  • Dry Flood-Proofing of Non-Residential Structures
  • Minor Localized Flood Reduction Projects
  • Non-Structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings and Facilities
  • Hazard Mitigation Planning
  • Management Costs