WVEMD Announces Approval of Federal Disaster Declaration


The West Virginia Emergency Management Division announced today that the President has approved a Major Disaster Declaration for West Virginia, unlocking federal resources to assist individuals and communities impacted by severe storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides that occurred August 28-30, 2023 in Boone, Calhoun, Clay, Harrison, and Kanawha counties.

The declaration provides:
  • Individual Assistance (IA): Direct financial and other assistance to eligible individuals and households in Boone, Calhoun, Clay, Harrison, and Kanawha counties. This may include grants for home repairs, rental assistance, and other essential needs.
  • Hazard Mitigation (HM): Funding to help all West Virginia communities reduce their long-term risk from future disasters. This can include projects to improve drainage systems, strengthen infrastructure, and protect critical facilities.
Residents in the five designated IA counties can apply for assistance immediately through the following methods:
  • Online: Visit www.DisasterAssistance.gov.
  • Phone: Call 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585).
  • FEMA App​
Under the direction of Governor Justice, the West Virginia Emergency Management Division is working closely with FEMA and other state and local officials to coordinate this declaration.

Residents and businesses in the affected areas are encouraged to stay informed about the latest updates and guidance from local authorities. For more information on this declaration, please visit fema.gov/disaster/4756​

Contact Information

Lora D Lipscomb, Public Information Officer