Update: Mingo, Wayne County Small Businesses and PNPs eligible for SBA Loans


Fact Sheet: Severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides beginning on July 26, 2022 and continuing

8/12/2022: SBA Extends First Payment Due Date of Disaster Loans to One Year for KY Businesses and Residents

8/2/2022: SBA press release

ATLANTA – The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced today that Floyd and Pike counties are now included as primary counties in the disaster declaration in Eastern Kentucky, and the SBA will open three Business Recovery Centers (BRCs) this week. One BRC opens in Perry County Wednesday, Aug. 3, and BRCs in Clay and Letcher counties open Thursday, Aug. 4. The BRCs are established to provide one-on-one assistance in submitting a disaster loan application for Kentucky businesses impacted by the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that began July 26.

The disaster declaration covers Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Perry and Pike Counties in Kentucky, which are eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA. Small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations in the following adjacent counties are eligible to apply only for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs): Bell, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley and Wolfe in Kentucky; Buchanan, Dickenson and Wise in Virginia; and Mingo and Wayne counties in West Virginia. 

The SBA's Business Recovery Centers will be open as indicated below until further notice:

Perry County

Hazard Community and Technical College
Jolly Classroom Center
1 Community College Drive
Hazard, KY 41701

Opening:     Wednesday, Aug. 3, noon – 6

Hours:         Monday – Friday, 9 – 6

                    Saturday, 10 – 2

Closed:       Sunday

Clay County

Eastern Kentucky University - Manchester
50 University Drive

Manchester, KY 40962

Opening:     Thursday, Aug. 4, noon – 6

Hours:         Monday - Thursday, 9– 6

                     Friday, 9 – 4:30

                     Saturday, 10 – 2

Closed:        Sunday

Letcher County

Appalachian Groundswell
229 East Main Street
Whitesburg, KY 41858​

Opening:     Thursday, Aug. 4, noon – 6

Hours:          Monday - Thursday, 9– 6

                     Friday, 9 – 4:30

                     Saturday, 10 – 2

Closed:        Sunday

Contact Information

SBA-Disaster Field Operations Center East, Michael Lampton