Local Emergency Planning Committees

Under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) must develop an emergency response plan, review the plan at least annually, and provide information about chemicals in the community to citizens. Plans are developed by LEPCs with stakeholder participation. There is one LEPC for each of the more than 3,000 designated local emergency planning districts. The LEPC membership must include (at a minimum):

  • Elected state and local officials
  • Police, fire, civil defense, and public health professionals
  • Environment, transportation, and hospital officials
  • Facility representatives
  • Representatives from community groups and the media

2022 National LEPC-TEPC HandbookEmergency Planning for Releases of Hazardous Chemicals and Emergency Planning and Community Right To Know Act (EPCRA) ​

LEPC Contact Information ​​

SERC Flyer

LEPC Workshops

TBA - Region 3 - Berkeley County Sheriff Office
TBA - Region 5 - Summit Bechtel
TBA - Region 1 - Trans Canada Bldg.
TBA - Region 4 (TBD)
TBA - Region 6 - Tri State Fire Academy
TBA - Region 2 - Harrison County EOC
TBA - Region 2 - Marshall County EOC​

Contact: GE McCabe, Director

West Virginia Emergency Management Division

2403 Fairlawn Avenue

Dunbar, West Virginia 25064

Phone: 304-558-5380