Annex 2 - Warning

A. An incident at the Beaver Valley Power Station (BVPS) may require that the public be warned. The Hancock County Divison of Homeland Security and Emergency Management is responsible for notification within the 10-mile Emergency Planning Zone (EPZ) in Hancock County. The procedures for warning the public are outlined in the Hancock County Radiological Emergency Plan.

The Hancock County Plan addresses:

- 1. Persons authorized to activate the public warning system.
- 2. Means for notifying all segments of the transient and resident population.
- 3. Means of coping with failures in the system during time of need.
- 4. Means of ascertaining that all members of the population have received the warning.
- 5. Having a compatible system with contiguous counties and states.
- 6. Notification of the emergency to the WV DHSEM.
- 7. Emergency Alert System (EAS) procedures, messages, approval, and verification.
- B. WV DHSEM will notify Ohio County, Brooke County, and Marshall County. These counties will notify the public by the EAS plans for their area and any other public media that is available to the counties.
- C. WV DHSEM may notify (See Annex 3 Communications) the counties in the 50-mile EPZ through their county Warning Points by:
 - 1. Telephone
 - 2. National Warning System (NAWAS)
 - 3. West Virginia State Police
- D. The warning, in both the 10 and 50-mile EPZ, will provide all necessary protective actions required, such as sheltering or evacuation.
- E. State assistance for warning to the counties will follow the guidelines established in Annex B of the West Virginia Emergency Operations Plan.
- F. The State will warn the public through the EAS. The EAS will be activated by procedures outlined in the State EAS Plan. Additional information to the public will follow the procedures outlined in Annex K (Public Information) of the Hancock County Radiological Emergency Plan and Appendix 9 (Public Information) of this Plan.

Annex 2 – Warning 2-1