

State of West Virginia

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY Cabinet Secretary Jeff S. Sandy, CAMS, CFE

Emergency Management Division 2403 Fairlawn Avenue Dunbar, WV 25064

(304) 558-5380 / Fax: (304) 766-2605

Matthew Blackwood Deputy Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: LORA LIPSCOMB

G.E. McCabe

Director

304-558-5380

lora.d.lipscomb@wv.gov

December 1, 2022

Kanawha County request for assistance denied

Fayette, McDowell Counties approved to receive federal funding for damage from severe weather.

Charleston, W.Va.— This afternoon, Gov. Jim Justice's office received email notification that West Virginia's request for a federal emergency declaration in Kanawha County has been denied.

The request for federal assistance resulted from damages caused by severe storms in August 2022.

"We're very frustrated by this decision," said WVEMD Director GE McCabe. "The Governor's Office and WVEMD worked incredibly hard with Kanawha County officials to complete damage assessments and assure that the application met the criteria to receive assistance. While we're disappointed, WVEMD is now working with the Governor's Office to appeal the decision."

Earlier this week, Gov. Justice secured federal funding after severe thunderstorms with associated heavy rains and high winds caused significant local flooding, downed trees, power outages, disruption to potable water systems, and road blockages during July and August 2022.

On Tuesday, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced the approval of Justice's request for federal aid to <u>Fayette</u> and <u>McDowell</u> counties.

"We thank Governor Justice for his assistance, and the citizens and local officials in Fayette and McDowell counties for their help completing disaster assessments," said WVEMD Director GE McCabe. "We remain hopeful of positive news regarding Doddridge, Jackson, and Mingo counties which remain under federal review."

Public Assistance is for state and local government entities as well as eligible private nonprofit organizations. It offers reimbursement funding for emergency work and to repair or replace eligible disaster-damaged facilities.

Tuesday's declaration also extends Hazard Mitigation Grant Program eligibility to all 55 counties. Hazard mitigation grants fund efforts by eligible entities to reduce or mitigate future disaster losses in their communities.

On <u>July 26, 2022</u>, Justice issued a State of Preparedness for all 55 counties as downpours and steady rain were forecast, declaring a State of Emergency for Fayette, Greenbrier, Logan, McDowell, Mingo, and Wyoming counties on <u>July 28, 2022</u>.

An additional State of Emergency for Fayette and Kanawha counties was declared by Justice on <u>August 15, 2022</u>. Each declaration remains in effect for 30 days unless terminated by subsequent Proclamation.

###